Excuse for Anger

I always hear it again and again and again. Even Jesus gets angry, so I have the right to be angry too. For a time, it brainwashed me to continue believing that yes, it’s okay to always be angry, to have no control of my temper, to shout at people, to get mad and all because Jesus did so. I have a problem of my temper so this has become a great excuse for me for all my anger outburst. And for many, the anger of Jesus has been an excuse too.

Okay, let me be honest here. I only heard about the anger of Jesus. I read it in hard bound magazines. I saw it on tv. But when I begin to believe it as an excuse to my temper, I did not read it in the scripture. I accepted it as the best way of excuse when my angry mood flips.

But what a revelation it is when I read the Scripture myself and I begin to see the heart of Jesus. Jesus wasn’t angry for selfish reasons. He was not angry because people did not worship Him. He was not angry because His goals wasn’t met. It was for a RIGHT REASON, ETERNAL REASON. The very best reason that connects the gap between humanity and God. PRAYER.

The house of God should have been a place where souls can get relaxed through His presence. It is a place where humanity can get connected with God again. It is a place where people can hear from God again. It is a place where one can get stillness in his/her souls and find the pleasure of hearing from the Father.

Jesus was angry because of His compassion for people. That instead of focusing on things that aren’t beneficial, they could have fixed their eyes on the Father. In His heart was a heart against distractions and that people can be at peace in knowing fully well that all their needs are going to be provided. That they can find satisfaction of their souls. That they could find healing.

Yes Jesus was angry. But He was angry for a very right reason. He was angry that people became distracted and focused on the surface which always creates havoc, unrest, and dissatisfaction.

Could it be that our anger and temper comes from our unrestful heart and not knowing the answer, we make Jesus anger as an excuse?

Could it be that our anger stems from an unanswered desire?

Could it be that the turmoil in our hearts come from prayerlessness?

Can we allow Jesus to drive out the distractions in our lives?

Can we allow Him to overturned our wrong priorities so we can see His plans for us?

Can we allow Him to do the cleansing of the turmoils in our hearts so our hearts can just see Him?

Isn’t our hearts the TEMPLE of God?

And as His Temple we will be called a temple of Prayer for all nations?

And for all of us, this is my prayer. That we become connected to Him again. That we can see His heart. That we can carry His purpose for us because He gives us a way to be unloaded with all the stresses and cares in this world. That we can view our lives in the perspective of God. That we can the impossible becoming possible.

Jesus taught us how. He is so good and so loving. May we all find the pleasure of thanking Him.

Mark 11:15-18 (NIV)
[15] On reaching Jerusalem, Jesus entered the temple area and began driving out those who were buying and selling there. He overturned the tables of the money changers and the benches of those selling doves, [16] and would not allow anyone to carry merchandise through the temple courts. [17] And as he taught them, he said, “Is it not written: “ ‘My house will be called a house of prayer for all nations’ ? But you have made it ‘a den of robbers.’ ” [18] The chief priests and the teachers of the law heard this and began looking for a way to kill him, for they feared him, because the whole crowd was amazed at his teaching.

Leave a Reply

