Only God is Truly Good

It is always a compliment to be called good. Good is as the same as nice, kind, gentle, generous, beautiful, wonderful, fantastic, superb, amazing, wow, loving, others. It’s like walking in a breeze feeling so care free, and unaffected over the cares of this world. When we are referred to as a good person it feels wonderful on the inside.¬†

But are we really good? Is our goodness consistent in all aspects? Are we really good in good times and bad times? Hmm, maybe at times but I don’t think it’s all the time.¬†

Did you ever tried to make a promise to yourself of being consistently good and given a period of time, you become so frustrated because you lose your cool? I did countless times. It did not even reach for a month and my goodness expires and give in to the wiles of the enemy. The same woman who do good is the same woman who do bad. When will I ever be consistent? The truth is, I can’t be perfectly good all by myself. I can’t be like Him and then become self-righteous on a daily basis. Yes, maybe I can extend kindness to those who are kind and lovely but it’s a struggle to do the same to the unkind and the unlovely. My goodness is at the same rate with that of the pagans.¬†

The Scripture says in the book of Matthew, Matthew 5:46-47 [46] If you love those who love you, what reward will you get? Are not even the tax collectors doing that? [47] And if you greet only your brothers, what are you doing more than others? Do not even pagans do that?

But God is consistent and He is consistently good to all people irregardless of their spiritual status. In Matthew5:44-45 [44] But I tell you: Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, [45] that you may be sons of your Father in heaven. He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous. 

Wow. The verse humbles me. Why? Because as of this writing, the only people who calls me good are the very people whom I was at the same time good. My goodness is as good as the pagans are or maybe they are even better than I am. I am impatient with the slow learner. I am unkind to the unorganized people. I am judgmental to sinners. I lashed back to the bossy and the choleric in nature. I commit murder inside my heart. I am the perfect example of a worst sinner who received salvation by His Grace. 

So what are we talking here? That we cannot be good by our own conditional merit. We can’t be good at all times because our efforts to do good won’t last without His grace. We can’t be smiling all the time without His glory all over our lives. But can we be consistently good? Yes! And this confuses your mind. Someone’s reading and begin scratching her head saying if God is the only one who is truly good then why can one be good?¬†

Listen to me. If you receive Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior, then the Holy Spirit is already living inside your heart. The Holy Spirit will make you become like Jesus Christ as you acknowledge Him and as you begin to die from your flesh. The fruit of the Holy Spirit will slowly be seen in your life, you died from your flesh and you are hidden in Christ (Colossians 3:3 (NIV))[3] For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God. 

Therefore, when people tells us that we are good, it isn’t because of us, it’s the work of Jesus Christ, His Holy Spirit inside of us. Their comment should not point them to admire us nor will it swelled our head but it should lead them to give praise God who is the one who is truly Good. We become who our Father is and our Father in Heaven is consistently good so in time, we become consistently good too.¬†

Mark 10:18 
Why do you call me good? Jesus asked. Only God is truly good.

Leave a Reply

