Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus

But to as many as did receive and welcome Him, He gave the authority (power, privilege, right) to become the children of God, that is, to those who believe in (adhere to, trust in, and rely on ) His name. (John 1:12)  -AMP

I memorized that verse, shared that to people, but truly, for the longest time, it was just like a casual conversation to me casually spoken by a casual friend which has no sense. I can still remember how I looked so awesomely brilliant talking that to people and wonder why, in all my brilliance, it did not give them the ohhs and the ahhs of spiritual conviction. Well, it did not convicted me either and to go with what is appealing that of memorizing a verse that looks cool specially among the crowds, I continued to speak that verse not mindful of how powerful that verse that is suppose it is to be. I represented it vainly and as a result, it has been vainly accepted, touching the base soil but it’s not bearing fruit to many, which it has me as the first base of receiving it with hypocrisy to appear religious.

This week as I was reading the Book of John again, this verse stopped me and caught my attention, as if the verse jumped out of the pages and arrested my heart for the very first time.

That verse is a foundation of why I am God’s Daughter, and that I can call Him Abba Father. It speaks about the power of Jesus Christ as the Son of God, that if I will receive Jesus Christ as the Son of God, if I will welcome Jesus in my heart, and if I will believe in Jesus Christ with all my heart, I am authorize to call His Father my Father. He gives me the title as the Daughter of God. He gives me the legal status as a woman born of God beyond physical impulse and natural birth but to God.

Jesus Christ is the only Son of God and I become God’s daughter because of His One True Son Jesus Christ. Jesus Christ was originally present with God (John 1:2). Jesus Christ was beside God as a master and director of the work; and He was God’s daily delight, rejoicing before God always (Proverbs 8:30). In fact no man has ever seen God at any time; the only unique Son, or the only begotten God, who is in the bosom (in the intimate presence) of the Father, the Father has declared Jesus Christ (The Father has revealed Jesus Christ and brought Jesus Christ out where Jesus Christ can be seen; Jesus Christ has interpreted the Father and Jesus Christ has made the Father known. John 1:18)

Wow. What a great revelation of the me that I am in Jesus Christ. What a wonderful feeling to walk in all the earth and to be completely so secure that I am the daughter of the One who created the heavens and earth because His Son, Jesus Christ tells me so. What a privilege to be taken out away from the hand of bondage and to be completely set free in the loving arms of God’s care and protection.

It’s just like this. If the Queen of England will see where I am living, and where I live is totally a discomfort to where she is living, and she will say, I am going to adopt you as my daughter, and that what I have is yours. And she will additionally say that by now and onwards, you will go out with a body guard and you will sleep in the Palace Room, in short you are now a Princess. And because of that, you will be trained to conduct yourself as a Princess. I’m sure it will change the way I see myself, it will change the way I conduct myself simply because I have been given a new identity from a commoner to a Royal Princess.

And now I get back to reality and see that I am living in a far different world from the Royals. That I don’t have Prince William as my Prince Charming and without being careful, their life will shattered my real identity.

The truth is God is the King of kings and the Lord of Lords. In the Father’s house there are many mansions and Jesus said that he will go to prepare a place for me (John 14:2).

As I surrender my all to Jesus Christ, the One who died for me on the Cross, it totally changes my identity. That I am God’s Royal Princess. That I can fearlessly and confidently and boldly draw near to the throne of grace (the throne of God’s unmerited favor for us sinners), that I may receive mercy (for my failures) and find grace to help me in good time for every need (appropriate help and well-timed help, coming just when I need it. Heb.4:16)

The advertising of this world will continue to make us believe that having everything that our flesh craves makes us so whole and accepted. And if we are not careful, we jump into their bandwagon because of too much craving of wanting to taste it and then we wake up knowing that their everything isn’t everything after all.

The turning point of having a fulfilled life started with God’s Son, Jesus Christ. May you all start to shift your eyes to a different direction and that you begin to turn your eyes to Jesus Christ. May you all begin to see the value of why He came here on earth.

Because only those who RECEIVE, WELCOME, BELIEVE in Jesus Christ are called the Sons and Daughters of God.

You can pray this prayer with all your heart:

Lord Jesus, I thank you for dying on the Cross for all my sins. I recognize that I am a sinner. I thank you for forgiving me.I thank you for your sacrifice of dying on the Cross for me. I thank you for giving me the authority to be a child of God. I open my heart wide to you. I receive you in my heart as the Son of God. I welcome you as my Lord and Saviour. I believe in You as the Son of God. Thank you for your eternal love and for Your blood shed for me. In Your name I pray. Amen

Leave a Reply

