GOD’S GRACE BREAKS THE FIVE MINUTES MORE HABIT  

I read about the word habit. I heard about this word too. Casually it did not make sense. Until not making sense on anything that makes sense has become a habit. Nothing makes me for everything breaks me that I knew.

Until I read a book that once seemed complicated. I guess it’s because it requires me to break the old habit and form something new. But. How hard would it be to change when I am comfortable in what I do. Then later part I just realized it’s my habit that pulls me away from what I know I am supposed to do.

Habit? What are you? I read from The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens by Sean Covey that habits are things we do repeatedly but most of the time we are hardly aware that we have them because they are on autopilot. Yeah, you are right. I am reading the one’s written for teens because first I realize it’s been given to me by Kuya Gang and Abril, second because it’s simple to understand and third because it has pictures in it and I am loving it.

I kept thinking what I repeatedly do hoping that I could catch the good one’s on autopilot but I am surprised that I still have to think and think and think again to find out if there is any but I don’t know  but I can’t find one. What? Promise? Really. I promise you. But. I don’t need to think twice of catching bad habits that breaks. Am I putting myself down? No. I am just being honest. Like what? You maybe asking. Hmmm like always saying five minutes more even at the sound of the alarm clock. Then it sounded again. And. It’s five minutes again. Then guess what? I am now in a hurry. I can’t pray. I can’t eat breakfast. I can’t put my make up on. I left my things. I end up apologizing. And I feel bad about myself. I simply become what I repeatedly do. Everything becomes five minutes more Lord. Again. And. Again. And. Again.

Samuel Smiles said,

Sow a thought, and you reap an act;

Sow and act, and you reap a habit;

Sow a habit, and you reap a character;

Sow a character, and you reap a destiny.

It takes the work of the Holy Spirit for me to see my bad habit and take note that it is still one among the many and it takes the grace of God to be able to form one. It’s obviously bad but I become so comfortable at it that I am beginning to be so good at it.

Has this been broken now? Yes. Too hard to believe? I understand but you can ask the people at home and I am sure they can vouch it without me briefing them in advance. Confident? Pretty Much. Integrity starts at home. And so  how did I make it? I am glad you’re asking. Here’s how:

  • I presented it to the Lord.
  • I asked God’s grace to enable me to get up as soon as the alarm sounded.
  • I just get up no matter what I feel and how I feel.
  • I committed to do it for 21 Days.

Bingo. The bad habit has been broken, thank you Jesus. The new one has been formed. No sweat. Hallelujah.

You know why?

Here’s the secret:

2 Cor 12:9

But He said to me, My grace (My favor and loving-kindness and mercy) is enough for you (sufficient against any danger and enables you to bear the trouble manfully); for My strength and power are made perfect (fulfilled and completed) and show themselves most effective in (your) weakness. Therefore, I will all the more gladly glory in my weaknesses and infirmities, that the strength and power of Christ (the Messiah) may rest (yes, may pitch a tent over and dwell upon me! AMP

So, you too can break any bad habit that has been formed in your life. All you need to do is take your eyes off of you and just see Jesus. He’ll make sure that He will sustain you.

Jesus is Grace.

And. Jesus. Is. Enough.

Thanks for reading and have a great day.

Leave a Reply

