The Law Is Good, Sin Is Bad

Romans 7:13 I can already hear your next question: “Does that mean I can’t even trust what is good [[that is, the law]]? Is good just as dangerous as evil?” No again! Sin simply did what sin is so famous for doing: using the good as a cover to tempt me to do what would finally destroy me. By hiding within God’s good commandment, sin did far more mischief than it could ever have accomplished on its own. The Message

TAKE ROOT:
When there is a law, I know my parameters and boundaries. Example, when there is a law that women who are wearing pants are not appropriate and everyone wearing it will be put to jail. That law is good. For one, it makes every woman becomes a lady and beautiful. It’s super nice to think about it especially if it is spoken to girly girls like me. But! Even if I have a desire to do it there is something in me that wants to try wearing pants. There is something in me that wants to challenge the law. Something on the inside of me will say, yeah it’s nice to wear pretty dresses but it won’t make you less of a woman too if you try wearing pants. That voice is a voice of my sinful nature. Romans 7:20-21 in The Message says My decisions, such as they are, don’t result in actions. Something has gone wrong deep within me and gets the better of me every time. It happens so regularly that it’s predictable. The moment I decide to do good, sin is there to trip me up. (MSG) It is using the good as a cover to tempt me to do so that I will be finally be destroyed. The purpose of sin is to destroy me. And even if I wanna try to do good in my own power, sin will trip me up because of my sinful nature which I got naturally from Adam and Eve.

Now, Jesus Christ comes in for the purpose of nailing my sins or my sinful nature on the cross. My sinful nature has been buried with Him into His death. That means it is no longer my sinful nature that’s mastering my life because on His death, my sinful nature is NOW DEAD. In Romans 8:2 in The Message says A new power is in operation. The Spirit of life in Christ, like a strong wind, has magnificently cleared the air, freeing you from a fated lifetime of brutal tyranny at the hands of sin and death.(MSG) This means to say that it is no longer my sinful  nature that’s mastering in me but the Holy Spirit who is living on the inside of me. It is the Holy Spirit who will enable me to follow the law. It is the Holy Spirit who will enable me to desire to do the things of God because doing it is the language of God.

When in the past I would always say, I can’t get up early to pray because I always make an excuse that I am a not a morning person but a night owl but I still did not pray at night, I wanted to, but I can’t. Now, I can wake up early and pray. Why? Because of the life of Christ living on the inside of me enables me. I am now a slave to righteousness and what dictates me is no longer my sinful nature but the Holy Spirit who lives on the inside of me. That’s the main reason why I can pray now because the sinful nature is already nailed on the cross and has been buried with Christ.

So the law given by God to Moses was good. The law makes me see what’s right and what’s not right. There’s nothing bad in that law. What’s bad was my sinful nature because of its natural tendency to get out from the law and that’s why Jesus came. The Father knew that I can’t follow the law all my life and I should die then go to hell. In Romans 6:23 in the Amplified says, For the wages which sin pays is death, but the [bountiful] free gift of God is eternal life through (in union with) Jesus Christ our Lord. (AMP) Without Jesus Christ, I will go to jail and then go to hell. Why? Because of my sinful nature in operation. But the moment I put my trust in Jesus Christ, there was a  great exchange. He got all my sins and I got His righteousness. Now, I can do what is right because of the righeousness of Jesus Christ on me and when the Father looks at me, He did not look at me as Metchili the sinner but Metchili the righteous one because of His Son Jesus Christ. This should take root in my heart.

BEAR FRUIT:
1) Read His Word and receive a revelation from God yourself.

a. Read His Word first before reading any reading materials.
b. Hear from Him first before hearing someone else.

REFLECT & CONFESS:
The law is good and it’s sin which is bad. The sinful nature has been nailed on the cross and was buried with Christ. I am now the righteousness of God in Christ Jesus.

One thought on “The Law Is Good, Sin Is Bad

  1. Read His given Word, ensure, dear reader, that also the Old Testament is etched into the walls of your bones. Christianity is derailed because of being “Paul only” and do not understand the Father character of God, do not understand righteousness, justice and wrath. As a result, their faith is without a solid foundation and some had become atheists. I found such right here amid other bloggers, I saw it where I live, where they eventually accepted Islam and Buddhism. We cannot have a healthy relationship with our Lord without understanding His law. The early Christians, for three centuries, did not even have the New Testament. Few people realise this.

Leave a Reply

