Jesus Died And Now I Can Obey The Law

Romans 7:25 O thank God! [He will!] through Jesus Christ (the Anointed One) our Lord! So then indeed I, of myself with the mind and heart, serve the Law of God, but with the flesh the law of sin.  AMP

TAKE ROOT:
Here Apostle Paul is relieved and thankful that at last he will no longer make an effort to follow the law of God because of Jesus Christ. In Romans 7:24 in the Amplified it says, O unhappy and pitiable and wretched man that I am! Who will release and deliver me from [the shackles of] this body of death? (AMP) He is basically struggling that in his effort to serve God and to do what is right, eventually he will end up doing what is not right. In fact he himself said in Romans 7:22-23 For I endorse and delight in the Law of God in my inmost self [with my new nature]. But I discern in my bodily members [in the sensitive appetites and wills of the flesh] a different law (rule of action) at war against the law of my mind (my reason) and making me a prisoner to the law of sin that dwells in my bodily organs [in the sensitive appetites and wills of the flesh]. (AMP) In other words, no matter what he will do, even with a good desire, he is imprisoned to the law of sin that lives on the inside of him. That’s why he likes to do what is totally right but his actions will do otherwise. Why? Because of sinful nature.

That’s my life without Jesus Christ. I have good intentions of doing good but I ended up doing what is bad and what is not right. Like for example in the book of Exodus 20:12 it says in the Amplified to Regard (treat with honor, due obedience, and courtesy) your father and mother, that your days may be long in the land the Lord your God gives you. (AMP) This is an amazing law with a promise of long life. Of course I want to live long in the land and see my grandchildren serving Jesus. But how am I going to enjoy that promised when I hated my father. He was a drunkard. He hurt me in the past. I was verbally abused. He left us when we were young. And now that we are working, he is back. How in the world could I respect him much more love him? Well, I wanted to. I desired to. But everytime I’ll see him, I will begin to hate him and then hate myself in the process because I am just an unloving daughter. I condemned myself time and time again for not loving him but even if I wanna try doing so, I can’t. Why was that? Because of my sinful nature. You see, the law was very good. It promises me to live long in the land that God has given me. But, I am bound with my sinful nature and all my pure intentions remains pure intentions because my flesh dictates me to hate my father and I was imprisoned with my sin.

Just like Apostle  Paul in Romans 7:24 in The Message, he says, I’ve tried everything and nothing helps. I’m at the end of my rope. Is there no one who can do anything for me? Isn’t that the real question?

Then comes the good news. God loves me so much that He gave His Son Jesus Christ for me. Jesus Christ came not so I will no longer obey the law and become lawless. He did not came to abolish the law and I can live my own life my way because God is gracious. No. Jesus Himself said in Matthew 5:17-18 in The Message “Don’t suppose for a minute that I have come to demolish the Scriptures–either God’s Law or the Prophets. I’m not here to demolish but to complete. I am going to put it all together, pull it all together in a vast panorama. God’s Law is more real and lasting than the stars in the sky and the ground at your feet. Long after stars burn out and earth wears out, God’s Law will be alive and working. (The Message) Jesus Christ came so that I will be able to obey the law. He came to nail my sinful nature at the Cross and buried it with Him on the grave. As I put my trust in Him, He nailed my sinful nature on the Cross. He buried my sinful nature on the grave with Him. His resurrection gives me life. His blood reconciled me back to God. That’s why I can now go to His throne of grace and find mercy and help in my time of need as Hebrews 4:16 says. Why? Because when the Father looks at me, I am now righteous because of Jesus Christ. There’s nothing that separates me from Him. I am no longer the object of His wrath but of His mercy and grace. He sees me now in the eyes of so much love.

As I trust in Jesus Christ, as I believe in Him, I am no longer condemned. It is no longer my sinful nature that is living on the inside of me, it is the Spirit of Jesus Christ, the Holy Spirit who lives on the inside of me.

In Romans 8:1-2 in The Amplified Translation it says, THEREFORE, [there is] now no condemnation (no adjudging guilty of wrong) for those who are in Christ Jesus, who live [and] walk not after the dictates of the flesh, but after the dictates of the Spirit. For the law of the Spirit of life [which is] in Christ Jesus [the law of our new being] has freed me from the law of sin and of death.(AMP)

This means, I can now follow the law because I am no longer a sinner but I am righteous in Christ Jesus my Lord. It’s not hard anymore. And when I fail, His Word said, I am no longer condemn but I can start all over again.

BEAR FRUIT:
1) Read and meditate the Word of God and ask the Holy Spirit to teach you.

John 14:26 But the Comforter (Counselor, Helper, Intercessor, Advocate, Strengthener, Standby), the Holy Spirit, Whom the Father will send in My name [in My place, to represent Me and act on My behalf], He will teach you all things. And He will cause you to recall (will remind you of, bring to your remembrance) everything I have told you. AMP

2) Listen from the Holy Spirit first before listening from someone else.

3) When you hear something, verify it from the Word of Hod yourself.

In order to bear fruit, be rooted in Jesus Christ yourself.

Leave a Reply

