Arise From Sadness

I woke up one morning and it looks like all hell broke loose against me. My body seemed so heavy to even get up considering how malnourished and tiny I even am. My mouth can’t seemed to open for even a short thank you Jesus and the weight of sadness I can’t even explain flood all over me. I could see the Bible and the list of prayer request right in front of me and not even a word can come out from my mouth. My emotions say I can’t. My thoughts, my will, and my emotions (soul) is sorrowful. I saw it way bigger than anything else that morning. I got my Prayer Request, laid my hands on it and I began to pray in the Spirit for there were no words that can seemed to get out from my mouth except, Holy Spirit, Help! While I felt so down, a voice on the inside of me says, pray but I reasoned the best word, I can’t. For some reason there was this mighty strength rose up on the inside of me that makes me stand up from my sit and words of thank you Jesus just flows from my mouth. There was a spiritual fight that took place and I heard myself saying, “devil, you can’t stop me from praising my God. You can’t stop me from praying in Jesus name. I come against you in the name of Jesus. All of sudden, in the middle of that sacrifice of praise, I could sense peace running all over me. But guess what? It was a fight. And Jesus wins. The Holy Spirit helped me. I believe that God sent His angels concerning me to protect me from the strategy of the enemy. There was a sudden exchange from the spirit of heaviness to a garment of praise.

Did you ever felt that way? When you have the finest plan of spending time with God the night before and on the next day you wake up feeling completely different from the night you joyfully make your plans? I understand. I understand the feeling of sorrow and sadness and the heaviness that oppresses our very soul. As if there is a no way out from that emotion. As if the yoke is so heavy, we wanted a way out but we don’t know how. Even King David, a man after God’s own heart felt the same way. In the book of  Psalms 42:5-6, he said, Why am I discouraged? Why is my heart so sad? I will put my hope in God! I will praise him again— my Savior and my God! Now I am deeply discouraged, but I will remember you— even from distant Mount Hermon, the source of the Jordan, from the land of Mount Mizar. (NLT) Then on the same chapter at the last verse, he said it again on verse 11 Why am I discouraged? Why is my heart so sad? I will put my hope in God! I will praise him again— my Savior and my God! (NLT). King David, counselled himself that to get out from his feeling of depression and sorrow, he has to praise God.

Jesus Christ Himself, a God encarnate in the flesh acknowledged the same kind of emotion shared to His disciples when He was in the garden of Gethsemane. In the Book of Matthew chapter 26 verses 36-38, it tells about the emotions of Jesus. “Then Jesus came with them to a place called Gethsemane, and said to the disciples, “Sit here while I go and pray over there.” And He took with Him Peter and the two sons of Zebedee, and He began to be sorrowful and deeply distressed. Then He said to them, “My soul is exceedingly sorrowful, even to death. Stay here and watch with Me.” (NLT) Yet, in the midst of what’s going on on the inside of Him, He finished His mission on earth. In fact, Jesus glorified the Father here on earth by completing down to the very last detail what He assigned Him to do (John 17:4, The MSG).

The truth is, no one is excempt from the feeling of heaviness, sorrow, and sadness. At one point in our lives, we will just wake up one morning and the feelings of too much sadness will suddenly overwhelmed us. And in that sadness, we begin thinking of quitting. To quit praying. To quit praising. To quit in the business that has been started. To quit from the relationship and file annulment or divorce. To quit loving. To quit dreaming. To quit trusting. The darkness seemed so severe and to linger in sadness longer could be the best choice.

I have good news for you my friend. You can arise from that sadness. But how? It’s been here so long on the inside of me, you ask. You can. When you already put your trust in Jesus Christ, He promised not to leave you as an orphan. Jesus said, the Father will send to you the Holy Spirit. In John 14:26 the Holy Sprit is described as your Comforter, your Counselor, your Helper, your Intercessor, your Advocate, your Strengthener,  and your Standby. (AMP)

You have your Helper who can work behind the scene for you. He is the Spirit of Jesus living on the inside of you. He is on a Standby, never leaving you, and when you’re feeling blue, you can call Him and He will help you.

Arise from that sadness my friend by asking Help from your very source of Help.

Isaiah chapter 60 verse 1 says”Arise, Jerusalem! Let your light shine for all to see. For the glory of the Lord rises to shine on you. (NLT)

Can I pray for you?
Father, in the name of Jesus, I thank you that a great exchange is now taking place. Thank you Father for the garment of praise instead of the spirit of heaviness.  Thank you Holy Sprit for helping my brothers and sisters who are now experiencing so much sadness. That You come and fill them with the joy of Jesus Christ. Thank you that the Spirit of Light overshadowed them, right now, and they will rise up, shining with the light of Jesus Christ. I trust you Father, that you are doing a mighty work on the inside of them and that they will never be the same again. In Jesus name. Amen.

If you happen to read this and you might be saying under your breath that you want to get out from that spirit of sadness but you don’t have a relationship with Jesus then just say this prayer with a sincere heart.

Lord Jesus, thank you for giving your life for me. I recognize that I am in deep sin but I thank you for coming into my life. Be the Lord over my life. Be the God. Today, I accept You, as my personal Lord and Savior. Thank you for writing me in the Book of Life. In Jesus name. Amen.

Have a great and productive day to you my friend.

 

Leave a Reply

