Let Your Light Shine

One afternoon as we arrived in Pier 3, we decided to walk and proceeded to a restaurant our choice with the imagination of rice alongside hot soup and meat to our hearts delight. We were so hungry then that a slightest mistake is going to be a major event and it eventually took place. We managed to calmly place our order when a waitress faced us with the coldest look and the most passive woman who took what we exactly wanted. My flesh jumped from the hills to the mountains that I used all my customer is always right rants and anger. I held the laminated menu in my hands totally infuriated in what I thought was the worst restaurant blunder and inefficiency wanting to slap it at her face hoping that she will wake up and consider that regardless of her problems might be at home, I deserved to be treated right, besides, I will be the one who will pay. Wew. Pride overload. The desire to fill our stomach turned to be a passionate complain with the people looking at us and being so dissatisfied,  we walked away dejected looking towards a fast food chain.

And as we walked away after the lashed of my flesh, I was so grieved in my heart. I forgot that I am a daughter of God who praises God with my mouth and regardless of whether I was served well or not, I could have walked away silently or maybe talked to the lady gently. I was so humiliated on the inside. I wanted to go back and asked for forgiveness but I was scared to be harmed. Hello!!! I was making a scene. My Father who were with us was totally displeased with our actions and I was disappointed all the more of my failure to be a testimony of God’s goodness.

image

Tonight as I went down to brush my teeth, I could feel the silence of the night and as I walked around I could see the little lights in every home that dispels the dark. As I continue to take a look in every corner, I am just reminded of the Light who lives in me which means to say that I am suppose to be shining. I guess to be a Light by my own inconsistent effort is going to be consistently impossible and I definitely need a switch and turn it on to the gift whom Jesus promised; my helper, my teacher, my standby, my advocate, my partner in abundance and I need, the Holy Spirit.

image

Matthew 5:14-16 You are like light for the whole world. A city built on top of a hill cannot be hidden, and no one would light a lamp and put it under a clay pot. A lamp is placed on a lampstand, where it can give light to everyone in the house. Make your light shine, so that others will see the good that you do and will praise your Father in heaven

.

Have a peaceful night everyone.

Leave a Reply

