A Woman Left Behind

I remember being in a group of people and I can still recall a respected person burst out saying, couple so and so is engaged. Then, as if it’s not over yet, looked me in the eye, and said, so, when will you get married? I could hear the snap reactions from various individuals and the chorus as if they practiced it way before meeting me, “You are now left behind.” My eyeballs twirl in disbelief and my muscles quaked silently upset in the midst of the overwhelming pressure I suddenly felt. It was a moment of wanting to have my own version of Exodus hoping that I could borrow the staff of Moses and before a dramatic exit, hit these people in the head. Thankfully, my body, especially my mouth has been trained to defensively smile, but my fast brain began to rapidly search over where in the Word should have this tremendous pressure were coming from.

The pattern of this world encrouched most even to people who resolve to follow Jesus, as if the blood of Jesus isn’t enough for a satisfying life. While marriage is a sacred unit in which two unique individuals become one, I also think that it needs to be prayed for and prepared for. The wedding can always be done in the midst of an emotional vows but there’s more to the ecstacy of the moment. While it is definitely a leap of faith, it is on the other hand a risk and a single resolve of commitment beyond the sparkles one feels. While others are concerned of one’s physical health which medically be dangerous in child bearing, I guess in an intense demand of what seemed to be an in thing, people even in their right mind fall into a wrong relationship because the moral support are rapidly dwindling.

So who said that you are left behind? Who said that if you are not in a relationship then you are worthless?

Single people, remember this:

You are not defined by the one you are with. You are defined by THE ONE who died on the Cross.

The greatest relationship that will last for eternity is the relationship you have with Jesus. And while I am rejoicing with good marriages and responsible parenting that has been my personal advocacy, I am lending my voice to single people who felt pressured by society as if their worth is in getting married or the necessity to have a boyfriend or girlfriend.

Get married but not because you are pressured but because you know on the inside of you that it’s time. If you are not in a relationship yet, don’t go to places that only displays the temporary pleasure but lack the emotional character to withstand tough times.

Instead, be the best you right now so that you will attract the best version of someone who becomes the best version of themselves.

So, hey, give yourself a permission to enjoy life regardless of the state of your heart. Buy yourself flowers. Give yourself a card. Drink your favorite coffee. Think beautiful or handsome.  Be confident in who God made you to be. Cherish your season. And most of all, enjoy Jesus.

I promise you, there’s just a surprise God has for you while you are having fun. Did I feel like Left Behind? Nope. I know without a doubt that God knows what He is doing and His best for me is yet to come. I believe that for you too.

image

Delight yourself also in the Lord, and He will give you the desires and secret petitions of your heart. (Psalm 37:4 AMP)

Jesus Loves You🌻

Leave a Reply

