Fresh Start In Jesus

I read Matthew again because I wanted to dissect every verse to intimately know Jesus. Usually, I am not that interested in genealogy because I don’t understand why they are there. But this time is different because Matthew 1:2 blow my mind away. It says, “Abraham was the father of Isaac, Isaac the father of Jacob, Jacob the father of Judah and his brothers (NIV).

The Holy Spirit reminded me of who Jacob was. In Genesis 32, Jacob had an encounter with God and on verse 27 he was asked, “[The Man] asked him, What is your name? And [in shock of realization, whispering] he said, Jacob [supplanter, schemer, trickster, swindler].”

In that one encounter with God, God changed Jacob’s name from Jacob [supplanter], to Israel [contender with God]; for he contended and have power with God and with men and prevailed (Gen 32:28).

However, on the genealogy of Jesus, it was not Israel mentioned in chapter one verse two, it was Jacob [supplanter, schemer, trickster, swindler]. And it speaks to me so much to realize that Jesus is not ashamed associating with us regardless of our past.

People may look at us in our act that they considered a grievous misconduct. They may judge us too much because we failed to conform to their standards and mess up. Our family may think that we ruined our family’s reputation and dislike us. Our workplace may highlight our low performance and probably fire us. The people in social media may bully us and assassinate our character.

No matter who you think you are.  Let me tell you that it doesn’t matter to Jesus. He knows that one encounter with Him will change your identity. He can change your perspective. He can change your life. He came to save us and set us free.

Case in point in the life of Peter in John 1:40-41. He was brought to Jesus by his brother Andrew and when Jesus looked at him, He said, “You are Simon son of John. You will be called Cephas (which, when translated, is Peter). If you are asking the significance, Simon means unstable and Peter means a stable one. All these happened in just one encounter.

I can’t find anyone much better to associate with other than Jesus. But He is in Heaven, you may screamed. Yes, He is in Heaven but He gives us the Holy Spirit to be our helper who has the same caliber as that of Jesus.  After all, the Holy Spirit is God.

In John 16:7 Amplified version, Jesus said, however, I am telling you nothing but the truth when I say it is profitable (good, expedient, advantageous) for you that I go away. Because if I do not go away, the Comforter (Counselor, Helper, Advocate, Intercessor, Strengthener, Standby) will not come to you (into close fellowship with you): but if I go away, I will send Him to you (to be in close fellowship with you).

We always have a sting of the past. People will relate to us based on our past. Others will look at us on the basis of our past. We may see ourselves based on our past.

But friends, if you submitted yourselves to Jesus, then you are in for a fresh start. The old you is gone. The new you has come. And it all started in Jesus.

2 Corinthians 5:17 Therefore if any person is [ingrafted] in Christ (the Messiah) he is a new creation (a new creature altogether); the old [previous moral and spiritual condition] has passed away. Behold, the fresh and new has come! AMP

I don’t know what you are thinking right now. I don’t know your past either. But, can I implore you to go to Jesus and try submitting to His Lordship?

You can pray this prayer from your heart:

Dear Jesus, thank you for dying on the Cross for all my sins. I recognize that I am a sinner. I recognize that I am helpless. I submit my life into Your Lordship. Thank you for a fresh start in You. In Jesus name. Amen.

If you pray that prayer from your heart then Congratulations!! You are in for a fresh start in Jesus. You can try reading the Bible and pray in Jesus name. I can promise you that your life will never be the same.

Jesus Loves You🌻

Leave a Reply

