Social Media & Me 

There was no doubt that I was so into social media. I was once a Facebook addict at the same time a paranoid Christian who hit people who are not at par with my opinion. When I have an ill feeling towards a brother and a sister in Christ, I used it as my platform to pour out my emotions but was too coward to follow what Jesus said, and that is if I am offended by someone else, I should go to that person and settle the offenses privately. It was not me. There were times too that I gave my unsolicited advice to people, appearing to be too intellectual about almost everything but cranky, bitter, and toxic to be around with. 

I should say that hitting someone in these platform, is the best version of a COWARD and I am talking about myself. I was complaining about everyone’s poisonous posts without realizing that many has died with what I posted myself. 

My two years of hiatus away from the mob or from the ministry to be exact without an Internet connection and without a tablet nor a smart phone gave me a realization that I was once a toxic silent journalist of my own while at the same time eating toxic feeds from bitter people too. 

Last year was a lightbulb that generally opened my eyes to a passion that I should not have. It was one morning when I just reported to work when a co-worker who really respected me a lot told me that I must be a DUTERTARDS. There is no doubt that I love the Philippine President but to be told a DUTERTARDS more than a JESUS FANATIC convicted my way of using social media as a whole. I smiled with my colleague’s genuine observation but I silently repented for my inability to increase the fame of JESUS more than any other man or woman on earth. As John in the Bible said, Let JESUS increase, and I decrease. I repented for using my talent to write to boast about someone I don’t know and who has no idea about my existence on this earth.

On the other hand, there were times too that I felt like I have a high blood pressure from all the feeds of negative people who hit others on Facebook. I get pissed off of people showing off what they possessed but are too lonely and swearing in real life. I get tired of me posting verses on my wall but I don’t have the fruit of the Holy Spirit to match. In the same way that I am tired of too much religiosity, pretensions, the know it alls, the Pharisees, hypocrites,  and so much more. If I look at it closely, that just describes me more than anyone else. 

This year, I made a decision to use my social media for a good cause. On the other hand, I unfollow a lot of people on Facebook because their posts will just cause irritations to my heart and my emotions will bubble up until it swirl to my failure to control myself or to listen to the Holy Spirit and I will start hitting the people I know and even with those whom I don’t know. I also removed my twitter app because I’ve got too much information but I lacked application. By now, I use these platforms to hopefully stir up good vibes in the lives of people and eventually may those who will read it will have a relationship with the Lord Jesus Christ as well. 

I just realized that my writings will one day be read by my own children and their children’s children and I hope to leave a legacy of positivity and faith in this negative world. If today’s generation is too negative already,  then how much more in the years to come. 

And since I unfollow a lot of people but still remain as friends, it makes my life so at peace too. I don’t get to read hypocrisy and no fake photos to watch. I guess, we mastered to be too plastic these days to impress the people we don’t know but hit the people who matters most to us in private because we become so uneasy with what we just feed ourselves in the process. 

In return, I also don’t want to waste the talent that God has given me by participating trash talks while at the same time claiming to be a follower of Jesus. I don’t want to be too religious with my lips but too hypocrite with my walk. I don’t want to post all the HALLELUJAHS on my wall while cursing someone on a private conversation. I don’t want to copy and paste verses but my heart is so unaffected by His Word in real life.

I love social media but I hope that from this year and forward, it will just radiate nothing but faith and positivity. That one day when my children will be reading it, they too will be inspired to walk on their dreams, win in life, laugh in good times and bad, and trust in the Lord Jesus Christ.

Your life does not get better by CHANCE, it gets better by CHANGE ~ JIM ROHN~

Leave a Reply

